

CLIMATES SOLUTIONS

At the Intersection of Land Use and Transportation Planning



Draft Agenda

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Time (EDT)	Session	Description
9:00 am – 9:30 am	Conference Welcome Sallie Fahey Lafayette MPO Executive Director Mayor Tony Roswarski City of Lafayette County Commissioner Tracy Brown President Board of Commissioners Mayor John Dennis City of West Lafayette Maithilee Das, ENV SP Greeley & Hansen	Welcome and an introduction to the Joint Climate Action Plan being developed for Lafayette, West Lafayette and Tippecanoe County. Examples of existing green infrastructure will be presented.
9:30 am – 10:20 am	Indiana Climate Change Impacts Dr. Jeffery S. Dukes Belcher Chair for Environmental Sustainability Director, Purdue Climate Change Research Center	Assessing the climate situation in Indiana and what realities we need to consider as we plan for our communities' land use and transportation futures.
10:20 am – 10:30 am	Break	
10:30 am – Noon	Integrating Natural-Hazard Resilience into Transportation Planning FHWA Office of Planning, Environment, and Realty Panel Presentation Introductions: Joyce Newland, FHWA-IN Division Heather Holsinger Environmental Specialist	Natural-hazard resilience is a concern for transportation agencies across the country. This session will highlight some of the natural-hazard resilience challenges that transportation systems are

	FHWA Office Natural Environment, Sustainable Transportation and Resilience Team	facing and highlight ways agencies can assess and proactively address some of these challenges through their transportation planning processes.
	Rebecca Lupes Environmental Protection Specialist FHWA Office Natural Environment, Sustainable Transportation and Resilience Team Corbin Davis Community Planner FHWA Office of Planning, Planning Oversight and Stewardship Team Jim Thorne Transportation Specialist FHWA Office of Planning, Transportation Planning Capacity Building Team	
Noon – 1:15 pm	Break for Virtual Lunch	
1:15 pm - 1:45 pm	FHWA – Indiana Division Update Mayela Sosa Division Administrator	
1:50 pm – 2:20 pm	E-Scooter Operations & ADA Committee Update Tim Stroshine, APCTC Assistant Director for Transportation Planning	
2:20pm – 2:30 pm	Break	
2:30 pm – 3:30 pm	Transportation Reauthorization Bill Progress and NARC Update Erich Zimmermann National Association of Regional Councils Deputy Director/Director of Transportation Programs	Transportation policy discussion, progress made (or not) toward a transportation reauthorization bill, other updates of interest.
3:30 pm –	Conference Wrap-up	